You are here: Home >> Government >> District >>  Narsingdi District

Narsingdi District

In 1996 Narsingdi district started its journey including the 6 sub districts (upazillas) that include NarsingdiSadar, Palash, Shibpur, Monohardi, Belab and Raipura and Narsingdi municipalities.

District Borders of Narsingdi – Kishoreganj district on the north, Narayanganj district on the south, Brahmanbaria district on the east and Gazipur district on the west. The total area of Narsingdi district is 3360.59 sq km.

Near the western side of Narsingdi railway station, many shrines are situated. Among them, the Shrine of Hazrat Kabul Shah in Toroa village, Shrine of Hazrat Shah Monsur in Kumradi village, Shrine of Hazrat Shah Irani in Patuali Union, Shrine of HazratSolaiman in Wari village and Shrine of ParuliaDewan Shah are noteworthy.
loom industry

One of the most special and noteworthy heritages of Narsingdi district is its loom art/industry. The famous Shekherchor (Baburhat) known as ‘Manchester of the East’ is situated in this district.

Narsingdi has also played vital role in the glorious history of the great liberation war. The martyr of the mass upsurge of 69 Shaheed ‘Asad’ and the martyr of the great liberation war Shaheed BirSrestha Flight Lieutenant MotiurRohman are the sons of this district. Narsingdi, being remarkable for the production of banana, kakrol, cucumber, bean, eggplant, rice, jute, potato and lotkon, has been introduced as an agriculturally enriched district.

Narsingdi District
Category Government >> District
Related Tags

, ,

Last Updated:
Total Views: 1883 Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More District Related Listings

  • Magura district - According to historian Abul Kalam Shamsuddin, author of the book ‘Adiparsha Khulna’, according to Magura’s name, the origin of the name of Magura from the de
  • Jamalpur - Jamalpur is another district of under Mymensingh Division in Bangladesh. The total area of Jamalpur district is 2031.98 square kilometers. It has 7 Upazilas and 7 Municipaliti
  • Netrokona - Netrokona is a district of under Mymensingh Division. The total area of Netrokona is 2,810 square meters. It has 10 Upazilas, 5 Municipalities and 86 Union Parishad. There is
  • Gazipur district - On March 1, 1984, Gazipur emerged as a district. The Gazipur district is surrounded by Mymensingh and Kishoreganj districts on the north, Kishoreganj and Narsingdi districts o