You are here: Home >> Education >> University >>  Jahangirnagar University

Jahangirnagar University

Jahangirnagar University was launched at a time when the country was going through the throes of a great political upheaval that led to the birth of our nation – Bangladesh. It was caught in the middle of two crucial events in our history — the mass movement of the late sixties, and the post-independence effort at consolidation involving a great deal of sacrifice, austerity and hard work.

The university was established in 1970 by the Jahangirnagar Muslim University Ordinance, 1970 (later amended as Jahangirnagar University Act, 1973), During the two preceding years, it operated as a project, Its first Vice-Chancellor took up office on September 24, 1970. The first batch of students, a total of 150, was enrolled in four departments; Economics, Geography, Mathematics and Statistics. Its formal inauguration was delayed until January 12, 1971, when the university was formally launched by Vice-admiral S. M. Ahsan, the then Chancellor.

The university stands on the Asian Highway, popularly known as the Dhaka-Aricha Road, and is only 32 kilometers away from the capital city. Spread over a land area of 697.56 acres the campus lies between the Bangladesh Public Administration Training Centre (BPATC) and the Savar Cantonment, on the north of which is the National Monument. The topography of the land with its gentle rise and plains is soothing to the eye. The waterbodies sprawling around the campus make and excellent habitat for the winter birds that flock in every year in thousands, making bird-watching a favorite pastime for many.

Jahangirnagar University
AddressThe Registrar Registrar Building (Ground Floor) Jahangirnagar University Savar, Dhaka-1342, Bangladesh.
Category Education >> University
Related Tags

Last Updated:
Total Views: 308 Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More University Related Listings

  • Islamic Arabic University - 2013 at the end of a long wait, the education minister of the Islamic Arabic University Act by the Parliament in the form of Bill 2013 is raised. Hence 5 September 2013 AD. Pr
  • Begum Rokeya University - Begum Rokeya University, Rangpur named after a legendary woman scholar Begum Rokeya who pioneered and promoted female education in Indo-Pak-Bangla subcontinent, is located in
  • Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University - Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University (SAU) is located in the heart of the capital city, Dhaka with an excellent public transportation facilities to reach SAU campus. Official
  • Bangladesh University of Professionals - Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP) was established on 05 June 2008. It is a public university both for the civil and military professionals. The university has five
  • Noakhali Science and Technology University - Noakhali Science and Technology University is being built at Sonapur eight kilometer south-west of Maijdee. It has a land area of 100 acres covering 93 Salla and 95 Noakhali M
  • Institute of Business Administration (IBA) - The Institute of Business Administration (IBA), University of Dhaka was established in 1966 in collaboration with the Indiana University, Bloomington, USA under a Ford Foundat
  • National University Bangladesh - National University Bangladesh was established in 1992. National University affiliated colleges and educational institutions offer B.A., B.S.S, B.Sc. B.B.S. Pass / Honours, MA